Middle Ground

Year: 2012

Instrumentation: vn, 2va, vc

Duration: 25 minutes

Download this Score and/or Parts

Enter a valid email address to unlock your download.

Program Notes

“Middle Ground” for violin, 2 violas, cello, is about more than the 2 violas – and that gorgeous middle range they sound in. It was composed in the midst of an American Presidential campaign, a time when, even more than usual, politicians speak in extremes, and none attempt to find that “middle ground” where people can accomplish remarkable things if they have the desire and will to do so. The quartet is in 5 movements, so that it also has a center, balanced by the outside movements. The 2nd and 4th movements are based on Baroque themes, by Corelli and Bach, respectively. The opening and final movements are dance-like, built around opening viola duets.


Support Original Music

Consider making a donation of any amount to help support this composer's work.