Collected Villanelles

(Poems by Theodore Roethke, Harvey Stanbrough, Sylvia Plath and E.A. Arlington)

Year: 2018

Instrumentation: a cappella voices

Duration: 16 minutes

Download this Score and/or Parts

Enter a valid email address to unlock your download.

Program Notes

Having read Theodore Roethke’s “The Waking” and deciding to set it to music, led me to the discovery that many other poets have written using the same ‘villanelle’ form. Over a few weeks, I wrote three more, setting villanelles by Harvey Stanbrough, Sylvia Plath and Edward Arlington Robinson. These are now collected in one score.

Support Original Music

Consider making a donation of any amount to help support this composer's work.